What’s Your God?

When I think about some of the things I enjoy doing in my spare time, a number of things come to mind.  I love fishing.  I could probably spends days on end fishing without interruption.  I also like camping, grilling, and spending time with my family amongst a few other things.  However, a question I must ask myself is, “Has it become my god?”  I John 2:15-17 tells us,

“Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.  For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.  And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.”

At any given moment, if I am in love with the world, the love of the Father is not in me.  What does it mean to love the world?  What does it mean to love someone or something?  I think back to the days when I was dating the young lady who is now my wife.  My thoughts were absolutely consumed with her.  Spending every waking moment of the day together wasn’t enough.  It was consuming.  Looking back, I can see that the time I should have been spending with thoughts of my great God were instead spent on her.  The moment the thoughts of her caused me to not give God preeminence in my life, she became my god.  There’s nothing wrong with loving your spouse.  In fact, the Bible commands it.  But, that love should never replace or supersede our love for God.

Whatever is consuming your thoughts IS your god.  In other words, whatever you think about most is your god.  Is your god the God of the Bible?  Or is it some form of entertainment?  Is it even something considered good and noble like family?  For those in the ministry, even the ministry itself can become a god if you aren’t careful.

Matthew 6:24 tells us, “no man can serve two masters”.  So, which master are you really serving?  You cannot have it both ways; you cannot have both the world and God.  May God give us the strength to be able to say from our hearts that our God is the God of the Bible; May He be the one who consumes our thoughts and affections.

Leave a Reply

